Today I’m thinking about moving forward, enough thinking and wondering, I want to get on with things!!  I want to change my life.  Again.

Now I have plenty of friends, 4 or 5 really close ones and a wide circle of other friends but none of them are really like me.  Or rather they don’t crave the life that I do.  They’re mostly happy with their lot.  Sure, they moan sometimes but they wouldn’t for one minute rock the boat to change anything.  I’m in my fifties.  This is what happens. People give up thinking ‘what shall I do next?’ and start to ‘settle’.. Oh my God, how I hate that word!  I am NEVER going to settle.  I know this.

They tolerate me though…. when at 47 I packed in my steady self employment role, rented out my house and took myself off to a country I’d never been to before, whose language I didn’t know and where I knew NO-ONE and had zero chance of finding paid work they just looked at me incredulously and said ‘You’re going to do what??!!!’  (I had a great 4 months.)  Then after a very brief 2 weeks back home when I decided to go WWOOFing (volunteering on organic farms) abroad just because I was enjoying being out of the country they thought I’d lost the plot.  ‘It’ll be all kids’, ‘ Your back will kill you’,’ You’ll have to share accommodation (horror!)’ ‘You don’t speak the language’.  I could go on but you get the idea.

Let me tell you – it was the best year of my life.

So now when I tell them I have to find a way to spend part of my year in this country (elderly parents, kids, grandchildren – you get the picture) but also part living abroad they nod and just say ‘Yes, but it’s not that easy’.

I love them, I truly do, but I need people who think like me.  Who understand that it doesn’t have to be easy it just has to be possible.  That where there’s a will there’s a way.  I need people who will cheer me on, brainstorm with me, think of solutions not problems, keep me focused, hold me responsible for my actions.

So …. I need to find them.  Today as part of Natalie’s 10 day blog challenge – day 6 I’m meant to write about people who inspire me or who I’d like to mentor me.  There are plenty of people who inspire me, Natalie for one, Rob Greenfield, Nicola Cairncross in her brilliant Money Gym days, writers of interesting blogs like Moral Fibres  but what I’d really like is a mentor. Basically someone who has done what I want to do.  Given up the 9 to 5 and created the life that she wants despite the obstacles and the nay sayers.  I’ve tried searching on-line but how do you word that search?  There are loads of coaches, internet gurus, location independent experts. How do I find the one that fits me best?  Any suggestions?  I’d love to hear them.

blog-challenge-badge-12-1

 click here

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

